Homemade apricot and almond muesli

May 15, 2007 at 10:23 am 2 comments

muesli.jpg

I have been wanting to try making my own muesli for forever! Well today, thanks to a little help from the lovely Jules at StoneSoup, I did it.

This is a toasted muesli with a difference. It uses no extra fat in the toasting process.The result is a gorgeously brown and deliciously crunchy muesli that has no more fat that normal granola.

I didn’t measure my dry ingredients- I just combined things till they had the appearance that I liked the look of. But I’ve given approximate measurements here for those who don’t have an instinct for measurements. I called this “apricot and almond” muesli, but in truth, its just a big mixture of things I love. I’m 1000% sure that you could add or subtract ingredients to suit your own taste, and it would still turn out wonderfully. I intend to play around with different formulations for future batches. But seeing this is the one I’ve tested, this is the one I’m posting for today.

Ingredients:
~2 cups rolled oats (not quick oats)
~1/4 cup pepitas
~1/4 sunflower seeds
~1/4 linseed
~1/2 cup flaked almonds
~1/2 cup dried apricots, finely diced

Method: in a bowl, combine the oats, seeds and almonds. Mix to combine. Pour into a large baking tray and spread evenly. The mixture should cover the tray but not be more than a cm deep. If it is, split the mix between two trays. Bake at 150 degrees C. Every 10 or so mins, pull the tray from the oven and stir the mixture. Return to the oven and continue cooking until the mix is crispy and nicely browned (about 20-30 mins).

Once the muesli is toasted to your satisfaction, remove it from the oven and allow to cool. In the mean time, chop the apricots. Once cool, add the apricots and (optionally) some sultanas. Transfer to an airtight container.

This makes approximately 500g of muesli. Because this muesli is so flavourful and nutrient packed, I suggest serving it with fresh fruit and natural yoghurt with a drizzle of honey and skimmed milk as the perfect weekend breakfast.

A 1/4 cup serve has approximately 100 calories. Delish.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Spaghetti Puttanesca done my way zesty corn and cannilini bean salad

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Matt  |  June 6, 2007 at 4:02 pm

    I think you mean Jules at Stone Soup… but nice recipe nonetheless… If I weren’t so averse to eating breakfast I must just have to try it 🙂

  • 2. foodlifestyle  |  June 7, 2007 at 1:32 am

    You are right! I don’t know where I dreamed up “Laura” from.. I’ll edit it now. Cheers 🙂

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



