My review – Global Knives “Ikasu” set

February 14, 2007 at 5:25 am 1 comment

Global Ikasu full sized

So I recently purchased this knife set. I’ll be honest, I got it primarily because I love how the knives and the block looks. But I have to say that after 2 months of using them, I am totally in love.

They are SO sharp, they are dangerous! I never used to understand how professional chefs could slice their veges so finely, but now I get it. Great knives make all the difference to food prep, and although I can’t compare Global to any brand other than Mundail (which is what I had before the Globals), my instincts tell me that these babies will stand up against many of the better brands.

The set has a RRP of something crazy like $600 Australian, but you can buy it online for $300 from homecouture (see link to the left). I actually got mine during the pre-christmas sales and paid only $260, which is incredible.

All in all, I highly recommend this knife set to wannabe chefs – as with all knife sets there are a couple of knives that get used only rarely and others which are my favs, but even so I think this set is a good all-round comprimise and gives you everything you need at a reasonable price:quality ratio.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Chilli caramalised pork with asian salad Valentine’s day dinner – Stir fried king prawns with ginger, soy and tamarind

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Jeff Coehn  |  August 8, 2007 at 12:43 am

    Thanks for your review. I bought the knives based on your recommendation.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



